Tales of the Mushroom Folk

Signe Aspelin; Translated by Polly Lawson

Price:
£12.99
Availability:
Not yet published - due 24 Jun 2021

Quick Look

  • Charming little tales introduce different mushroom families, from the sleepy Slippery Jacks to the playful Porcini
  • Includes a handy non-fiction guide to mushroom types, with a warning not to forage unless you are an expert
  • This premium new edition of a classic Swedish picture book features hand-designed end papers, a cloth spine and luxury paper

Delightful tales of different mushroom families and what makes them special. A beautiful new edition of this charming nature story for fans of Elsa Beskow and Sibylle von Olfers, full of vintage charm.

Format:
hardback
Size:
240 x 296 mm
Publisher:
Floris Books
Subject:
Picture Books
Illustrations:
colour illustrations
Age Range:
From 4 to 7 years
Extent:
32 pages
ISBN:
9781782507529
Publication date:
24 Jun 2021

Description

It's early spring and the mushroom folk are emerging into the bright sunshine. Meet the mischievous Fly Agaric Toadstools, the playful Porcini Mushrooms, the sleepy Slippery Jacks and the regal Button Mushrooms in this delightful picture book full of whimsy and vintage charm.

As the seasons turn, readers are introduced to the different mushroom families and learn what makes them special through a series of charming tales.

This is a gorgeous new edition of the classic picture book which was first published in 1909. Swedish artist Signe Aspelin's delightful illustrations are reminiscent of Elsa Beskow and Sibylle von Olfers with their imagination, liveliness and celebration of nature.

Reviews

'Tales of the Mushroom Folk is a wonderful choice for readers hoping to learn about mushrooms in a lighthearted manner.'
-- New York Botanical Garden

'This book was first published in 1909! It is a rather stunning introduction to different kinds of mushrooms that includes the kind of folks who represent these mushrooms and what they do during the day. The illustrations are wonderfully done and the book is nothing short of fascinating.'
--Youth Services Book Review

'Illustrated in a classic style reminiscent of Elsa Beskow and Sibylle von Olfers, "Tales of the Mushroom Folk" is a lovely picture book filled with natural detail of the woods and meadows where the mushroom folk live. Enthusiastically recommended, "Tales of the Mushroom Folk" will prove to be an enduringly popular addition to family, preschool, elementary school, and community library picture book collections for children.'
-- Midwest Book Review, January 2017

'Tales of the Mushroom Folk provides a fun story of Stinkhorns, Button Mushrooms, and more, and comes from a Swedish book illustrator who designed books from 1881-1961. Full-page, gorgeous intricate color drawings a story of the Brain Mushroom family who lives deep in a forest. The beautiful saga of different mushroom folk and their environments and interactions makes for a fun story that all ages will appreciate - especially adults who choose it for read-aloud because of its whimsical characters and Victorian-looking fantasy drawings.'
-- Midwest Book Review, February 2017

Author

Signe Aspelin (1881-1961) was a Swedish children's book illustrator and textile designer. Her illustrations were popularly used on Swedish greetings postcards.

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors