The Story of the Wind Children

Mini edition

Sibylle von Olfers

Price:
£6.99
Availability:
Available to buy

Quick Look

  • From the bestselling illustrator of The Story of the Root Children and The Story of the Snow Children
  • A simple and original story of delightful nature spirits accompanied by classic art nouveau illustrations
  • A new mini edition of this nostalgic seasonal story will be particularly enjoyed in the autumn months and is perfect for little hands

George's toy boat won't sail -- until a wind sprite comes to help! George goes on a wonderful adventure with his new friend, through fields and orchards and across the sky. A mini edition of Sibylle von Olfers' classic art nouveau children's story.

Format:
hardback
Size:
122 x 172 mm
Publisher:
Floris Books
Subject:
Picture Books
Illustrations:
colour illustrations
Age Range:
From 3 to 5 years
Extent:
24 pages
ISBN:
9781782506133
Publication date:
20 Jun 2019

Description

George is playing with his boats, but there's no wind to make them sail. Then one of the wind children comes and blows especially for him -- and together they embark on a great adventure.

The wind child blows dandelions in the meadows, shakes apples from the tree and blows the leaves around and eventually she blows George home on a cloud.

A mini gift edition of the classic children's story, from the creator of The Story of the Root Children and The Story of the Snow Children. The beautiful, detailed art-nouveau illustrations cultivate a feeling of magic and nostalgia.

Reviews

'Born in East Prussia in 1881, Sibylle von Olfers' highly adept naturalist style places her work firmly in the vein of Beatrix Potter, Kate Greenaway and Elsa Beskow. Autumn and nature are brilliantly personified in this beautifully detailed work.'
--Achuka magazine

'In each of her seasonal books, von Olfers' illustrations are painted in tones which perfectly match the mood of the time of year, and her cherubic Nature children speak of a timeless innocence. A joy for children and an inspiration for adults.'
-- Juno magazine

Author

Sibylle von Olfers is a Floris Books featured author. Read all about this author's life and work on our dedicated author page.

Sibylle von Olfers' (1881-1916) blend of natural observation and use of simple design has led to comparisons with Kate Greenaway and Elsa Beskow. Her other published works include The Story of the Root Children, The Princess in the Forest and The Story of the Snow Children.

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors