The Magnus Fin Trilogy

Ocean Quest, Moonlight Mission and Selkie Secret

Janis Mackay


Quick Look

The complete Magnus Fin trilogy. On his eleventh birthday, schoolboy Magnus Fin finds out he is half-selkie -- part human, part seal -- and a ocean of trouble comes his way. An exciting adventure series.

Floris Books
Age Range:
From 8 to 12 years
600 pages
Publication date:
30 Apr 2014
Magnus Fin


On his eleventh birthday, schoolboy Magnus Fin finds out that he is half selkie -- part human, part seal. Although he looks like a boy and lives on land, he can breathe underwater.

In Magnus Fin and the Ocean Quest, Magnus Fin must save his new-foound family from the evil force threatening all the ocean's creatures.

In Magnus Fin and the Moonlight Mission, Magnus Fin discovers his initials scratched into rocks by the shore and must find the cause of a perilous seal sickness. Little does his know that his best friend Tarkin is also in great danger.

In Magnus Fin and the Selkie Secret, Magnus Fin discovered a rusty metal chest which has been flung ashore in a storm. But when he injures his hand, strange things start to happen which threaten to reveal his most precious secret.

Janis Mackay won the Kelpies Prize with the first Magnus Fin story. This complete trilogy will ensure you don't miss a sentence of Magnus Fin's brilliant adventures.


Janis Mackay was born and grew up in Edinburgh, but moved to London to study journalism. She has an MA in Creative Writing and has held writer-in-residence posts in both Caithness and Sutherland. She currently lives in Edinburgh, where she teaches creative writing and works as a writer and storyteller.

You can also visit the author's own website at

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors