It's Only the End of the World

J. A. Henderson

Price:
£4.99
Availability:
eBook

Quick Look

  • An adrenaline-filled action adventure novel, perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore
  • Features one reluctant hero and a sassy sidekick, a potentially rogue A.I., an evil corporation and a sprinkling of almost certain Armageddon
  • Charlie Ray is Alex Rider, just with more sarcasm and less patience

Unlikely teen hero Charlie faces an evil corporation determined to bring on THE END OF THE WORLD in this pacey, ironic, and hilarious, thriller with the feel of Christopher Brookmyre.

Publisher:
Floris Books
Subject:
KelpiesEdge
Age Range:
From 12 to 16 years
Extent:
256 pages
ISBN:
9781782505365
Publication date:
16 Aug 2018
Series:
KelpiesEdge

Description

Charlie thinks he's a pretty normal guy, until someone breaks into his room one night and reveals that everything he's ever thought about anything is wrong.

1. His parents are boring -- except they're actually highly skilled computer hackers with a history of radical action

2. He has no special talents -- except he's been jacked up with the Jekyl serum, making him near enough a super hero (minus the spandex)

3. The world is basically a good and predictable place -- except the evil corporation determined to bring on THE END OF THE WORLD, and kill him

4. The person who broke into his room is weird -- OK, that one is true. But Daffodil (not her real name) has a bossy, all-powerful artificial intelligence attached to her brain stem which is bound to make anyone a little different.

In this pacey, ironic thriller, brilliant dialogue meets slapstick fight scenes, in a teen version of Christopher Brookmyre, and the question of who's controlling whom is startlingly, hilariously and constantly revised.

Reviews

"A whirlwind of action and breathless exposition… A sharply built adventure with engaging characters."
--Kirkus

Author

J. A. Henderson is an award-winning author of fiction, and non-fiction, for children and young adults. Originally from Dundee, Scotland, he now splits his time between Brisbane, Australia and Edinburgh, Scotland, where he runs the award-winning ‘City of the Dead’ ghost tours. Jan won a Royal Mail Book Award for teen thriller Bunker 10.

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors

| =