The Seven-Year-Old Wonder Book

Isabel Wyatt

Available to buy

Quick Look

  • New edition of renowned storyteller Isabel Wyatt's collection of magical tales for six and seven-year-olds
  • These magical tales take us through the highlights of the year, through festivals and birthdays

These magical tales take us through the highlights of the year, through festivals and birthdays. Perfect for six and seven year olds.

216 x 138 mm
Floris Books
Story Books & Anthologies
b/w illustrations
Age Range:
From 6 to 8 years
160 pages
Publication date:
20 Sep 2012
3rd edition


Every night, before Sylvia goes to sleep, she whispers a magic spell to the rhyme-elves. In the morning her Wonder Book is filled with beautiful pictures and poems of her adventures and the extraordinary stories she has heard.

There is nothing Sylvia loves more than stories; so every day she asks her mother, the old woodsman and even her fairy friend Sister-in-the-Bushes to tell them to her. They weave magical stories of clever princesses, far-away kingdoms, courageous knights, kind children and graceful fairies.

During the day, Sylvia also has her own adventures: planting a fairy tree, meeting St Nicholas and venturing into the deep woods. But as she comes closer to her special seventh birthday, there is one extraordinary adventure left.

This enchanting collection of tales, charmingly told by Isabel Wyatt, takes us through the highlights of the year as Sylvia and her friends celebrate festivals and birthdays.

Table of Contents

Sylvia and the Sick Toys
The Story of the Wood-Maiden Who Couldn’t Dance
The Poem of the Singing Sky
The Story of the Star Twins
The Poem of the Black Cloak and Hood
The Making of the Fairy Tree
The Poem of the Tree Makers
The Dragon in the Sky
The Story of Snowflake and the Dragon
The Poem of Knight Michael
Sylvia and the Old Woodsman
The Story of the Lordly Cockerel
The Poem of Wily, Lordly and Lowly
Sylvia’s Turnip Lantern
The Story of Hugin and the Turnip
The Poem of Hallowe’en Lanterns
Sylvia and the Wicked Little Imp
The Story of the Country at the Bottom of the Well
The Poem of the Silver Cherry and the Golden Pear
Sylvia’s Advent Wreath
The Story of Rufusi Ryneker
The Poem of the Crown of Candles
The Visit of St Nicholas
The Story of Bella, Sophia and Little Bonita
The Poem of the Golden Boy
Sylvia’s Painting
The Story of the Tree that Dreamt a Flower
The Poem of the Christmas Tree
Getting Ready for Christmas
The Story of Cordita and the Three Little Men
The Poem of Kind Cordita
Christmas Day
The Story of the Apple Tree that Bore a Star
The Poem of Eva’s Apple
Sylvia’s Birthday Poem
Sylvia’s Birthday
Sylvia and the Three Fairies
The Poem of the Three Tooth-Gifts
Sylvia and Elf Prince Frey
The Poem of the Fairy Bread
Sylvia and Peter


'The Seven-Year-Old Wonder Book tells stories about Sylvia and her life and experience through her sixth year of life. Each section tells of Sylvia's day; then she is told a story, by her mum or a friend, that relates to her experiences. Finally, just before going to sleep, Sylvia leaves her Wonder Book on her bedside table and chants a poetry spell asking the rhyme-elves to write a poem for her during the night. Sylvia wakes up the following morning to a new poem and a beautiful drawing and she runs to her mother's bed to read it.
The stories relate to festivals throughout the year and, towards the end of the book, we are told about Sylvia's seventh birthday. The sense of wonder in the book is achieved through the way in which Sylvia's life stories intertwine with story-telling and with the rhyme-elves' creation of beautiful pictures and poems. A magical book for six and seven year olds.'
-- Juno: A Natural Approach to Family Life, Spring 2006


Isabel Wyatt was born in England in 1901. She spent many years teaching young children and was then, until her retirement in 1965, co-director of studies at Hawkwood College in Gloucestershire. She wrote many books for children, including King Beetle-Tamer and The Book of Fairy Princes. She died in 1992.


Please browse the carousel below for more wonderful story collections from Isabel Wyatt.

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors