Chaos Quest

Gill Arbuthnott

Out of print

Quick Look

Kate and David find themselves involved in a race to prevent the Lords of Chaos from tricking the Stardreamer into loosing her power.

Floris Books
Age Range:
From 8 to 12 years
208 pages
Publication date:
02 May 2013


Kate and David are at secondary school in Edinburgh. David is struggling to come to terms with his new stepmother, and Kate is being expected to take more responsibility for her younger brother.

But time never stands still for long. They soon become involved in a race to prevent the Lords of Chaos from tricking Erda, the Stardreamer, into losing her power. Even with help from Morgan the Hunter, can they prevent the barriers between times being blown away forever?

The thrilling sequel to The Chaos Clock.


'An engaging tale of good against evil involving magic and touching on love, loss and sacrifice. It is well-plotted with rounded characters and a satisfying ending.'
-- Booktrusted (

'If you enjoyed The Chaos Clock, this is a must-read sequel. It's exciting and gripping from beginning to end.'
-- Nathan, Teen Titles

'Gill Arbuthnott sets David and Kate's fantastic adventures against the backdrop of Edinburgh and the surrounding countryside, including a terrifying incident at Rosslyn Chapel. Danger is never far away in this thrilling sequel.'
-- Kathryn Ross, The Scotsman

'The Chaos Quest proves Gill Arbuthnott is no one-novel wonder. Folding a full-blooded "other" world into the very real-feeling living space of her teenage characters, Arbuthnott has created a fast paced fantasy thriller. A compellingly three-dimensional piece of fiction.'
-- Lindsey Fraser, The Sunday Herald

'A good magical read with plenty of adventure.'
-- Lewis, age 10, Education Otherwise


Gill Arbuthnott was born and brought up in Edinburgh, but escaped briefly to study in St Andrews and Southampton. She couldn't stay away, however, and now lives in Edinburgh with her family and Leonard the cat. A former biology teacher, she has written several novels for children: The Chaos Clock, The Chaos Quest and Winterbringers (all Floris Books), as well as books with Barrington Stoke and The Keeper's Daughter, published by Chicken House.

You can also visit the author's own website at


Also available in paperback:
Chaos Quest(paperback edition)

Also available by Gill Arbuthnott:
Chaos Clock
Dark Spell

Download or print a free Teacher's Guide for this book:
Chaos Quest Teacher's Guide (PDF; 16KB)

Don't miss the Discover Kelpies website for children with exclusive author interviews, fun stuff and latest gossip on your favourite Scottish stories.

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors