The Chaos Quest

Gill Arbuthnott

Out of print

Quick Look

Eighteen months after the events of The Chaos Clock, Kate and David find themselves involved in a race to prevent the Lords of Chaos from tricking the Stardreamer into loosing her power.

198 x 130 mm
Floris Books
Age Range:
From 8 to 12 years
192 pages
Publication date:
30 Sep 2004


The sequel to The Chaos Clock

It is eighteen months after the events of The Chaos Clock, and Kate and David are now at secondary school in Edinburgh. David is struggling to come to terms with his new stepmother, and Kate is being expected to take more responsibility for her younger brother.

But time never stands still for long. They soon become involved in a race to prevent the Lords of Chaos from tricking Erda, the Stardreamer, into losing her power. Even with help from Morgan the Hunter, can they prevent the barriers between times being blown away forever?


'An engaging tale of good against evil involving magic and touching on love, loss and sacrifice. It is well-plotted with rounded characters and a satisfying ending.'
-- Booktrusted (

'If you enjoyed The Chaos Clock, this is a must-read sequel. It's exciting and gripping from beginning to end.'
-- Nathan, Teen Titles, Spring 2005

'Gill Arbuthnott sets David and Kate's fantastic adventures against the backdrop of Edinburgh and the surrounding countryside, including a terrifying incident at Rosslyn Chapel. Danger is never far away in this thrilling sequel.'
-- Kathryn Ross, The Scotsman, 11 December 2004

'The Chaos Quest proves Gill Arbuthnott is no one-novel wonder. Folding a full-blooded "other" world into the very real-feeling living space of her teenage characters, Arbuthnott has created a fast paced fantasy thriller. A compellingly three-dimensional piece of fiction.'
-- Lindsey Fraser, The Sunday Herald, 19 December 2004

'A good magical read with plenty of adventure.'
-- Lewis, age 10, Education Otherwise, October 2004


Gill Arbuthnott was born and brought up in Edinburgh, but escaped briefly to study in St Andrews and Southampton. She couldn't stay away, however, and now lives in Edinburgh with her family and Leonard the cat. A former biology teacher, she has written several novels for children: The Chaos Clock, The Chaos Quest and Winterbringers (all Floris Books), as well as books with Barrington Stoke and The Keeper’s Daughter, published by Chicken House.

You can also visit the author's own website at


Download or print a free Teacher's Guide for this book:
Chaos Quest Teacher's Guide (PDF; 16KB)

Don't miss the Discover Kelpies website for children with exclusive author interviews, fun stuff and latest gossip on your favourite Scottish stories.


A new edition of Chaos Quest is now available:
Chaos Quest new edition

Also available by Gill Arbuthnott:
Chaos Clock
Dark Spell

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors