Thorfinn and the Putrid Potion

David MacPhail; Illustrated by Richard Morgan

Price:
£2.99
Availability:
Not yet published - due 19 Mar 2020

Quick Look

  • Eighth book from the author of Scholastic LOLlies-shortlisted Thorfinn and the Awful Invasion
  • Thorfinn is the world’s worst viking -- polite, kind, intelligent, and with no interest in raiding and plundering!
  • Hilarious dialogue meets brilliant illustration in this early-reader chapter book series, perfect for young readers who love Horrid Henry and Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Thorfinn is a nice, polite young Viking. When Chief Harald is poisoned by a putrid sleeping potion, can Thorfinn find the cure and save the village?

Publisher:
Floris Books
Subject:
Young Kelpies
Illustrations:
50 b/w illustrations
Age Range:
From 6 to 9 years
Extent:
128 pages
ISBN:
9781782506508
Publication date:
19 Mar 2020
Series:
Thorfinn the Nicest Viking

Description

Prepare yourself for the wrath of the Norsemen! That is, if you don't mind and it's not too inconvenient...

Everyone knows Vikings are ruthless barbarians whose idea of a good time involves pillaging, plundering and feasting. But Thorfinn is no ordinary Viking! He is always polite and happily offers to wash the dirty dishes. Too bad his dad is Harald the Skull-Splitter, Village Chief and the roughest and toughest Viking of them all.

When Chief Harald is poisoned by a putrid sleeping potion, Thorfinn suspects visiting soothsayer Ragwich. Banished for offending the power-hungry wise man, Thorfinn and his friends set sail to find the world's best potion maker to brew a cure. Unfortunately, the antidote requires a very rare ingredient.

Can Thorfinn find the cure and wake Harald before Ragwich takes control of the village?

Thorfinn and the Putrid Potion is the eighth adventure for Thorfinn the Nicest Viking in this funny, action-packed illustrated series for young readers which bridges the gap between Horrid Henry and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, set in a world where manners mean nothing and politeness is pointless!

Reviews

Praise for Thorfinn the Nicest Viking:

'Hand these to fans of How to Train Your Dragon.'
-- School Library Journal

'With short chapters and plenty of laughs on every page, this highly entertaining series of Viking antics is ideal for confident independent readers. Hilarious illustrations accompany the witty text, and there are puzzles and trading cards to be enjoyed at the end of the book.'
-- BookTrust

'It is a story filled with humor that will appeal to young readers... Readers who like the graphic novel/fiction book format will like the cartoon like illustrations throughout the book. Reluctant readers will find the format and short chapters accessible.'
-- Youth Services Book Review

Author

David MacPhail left home at eighteen to travel the world and have adventures. After working as a chicken wrangler, a ghost-tour guide and a waiter on a tropical island, he now has the sensible job of writing about yetis and Vikings. At home in Perthshire, Scotland, he exists on a diet of cream buns and zombie movies. As well as the Thorfinn the Nicest Viking series, David is also the author of the Top-Secret Grandad and Me! series.

Richard Morgan was born and raised by goblins on the Yorkshire moors. He has painted backgrounds for Disney TV and now writes and illustrates children's books. He lives in Cambridge, England, and has a family of goblins of his own.

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors