Thorfinn and the Dreadful Dragon

David MacPhail; Illustrated by Richard Morgan

Price:
£2.99
Availability:
eBook

Quick Look

  • Thorfinn is the world's worst viking -- polite, kind, intelligent, and with no interest in raiding and plundering!
  • Hilarious dialogue plus brilliant illustrations makes this a perfect series to encourage solo reading among developing readers
  • Thorfinn, The Nicest Viking is a funny and fearsome series for young readers who love Horrid Henry and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, set in a world where manners mean nothing and politeness is pointless!
  • Seventh book in the early-reader chapter book series where hilarious dialogue meets brilliant illustration

Thorfinn is a nice, polite young Viking. Can he persuade a dreadful dragon to help him win the Shetland Fire Festival competition?

Publisher:
Floris Books
Subject:
Young Kelpies
Illustrations:
50 b/w illustrations
Age Range:
From 6 to 9 years
Extent:
136 pages
ISBN:
9781782505754
Publication date:
18 Apr 2019
Series:
Thorfinn the Nicest Viking

Description

Prepare yourself for the wrath of the Norsemen! That is, if you don't mind and it's not too inconvenient...

Everyone knows Vikings are ruthless barbarians whose idea of a good time involves pillaging, plundering and feasting. But Thorfinn is no ordinary Viking! He is always polite and happily offers to wash the dirty dishes. Too bad his dad is Harald the Skull-Splitter, Village Chief and the roughest and toughest Viking of them all.

Vikings far and wide are travelling to Scotland's Shetland Islands for the great Fire Festival where they'll compete to become ultimate champion by creating dazzling fire displays. Chief Harald is determined to be victorious but it seems as if Thorfinn has ruined their chances against rival Viking Chief Magnus the Bone-Breaker, until he remembers a story about a once-legendary dragon, now in hiding…

Can Thorfinn and his ragtag crew track down the dreadful dragon and persuade her to help them put on a winning performance?

Thorfinn and the Dreadful Dragon is the seventh adventure for Thorfinn the Nicest Viking in this funny, action-packed illustrated series for young readers which bridges the gap between Horrid Henry and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, set in a world where manners mean nothing and politeness is pointless!

Reviews

'Thorfinn and the Dreadful Dragon is funny and adventure-filled, and would be particularly enjoyed by newly-independent readers. While it's sure to be a hit with existing fans, it also works well as a stand-alone.'
-- Roaring Reads

Author

David MacPhail has worked as a chicken wrangler, a ghost-tour guide and a waiter on a tropical island, and he now has the sensible job of writing about yetis and Vikings. David is also the author of An Amazing Illustrated Atlas of Scotland and the Lollies-nominated Thorfinn the Nicest Viking series, the Top-Secret Grandad series, and the Velda the Awesomest Viking series. He lives in Perthshire, Scotland.

Richard Morgan was born and raised by goblins on the Yorkshire moors. He has painted backgrounds for Disney and now writes and illustrates children's books. He lives in Cambridge, England, and has a family of goblins of his own. He's the illustrator of the Lollies-nominated Thorfinn the Nicest Viking series and the Velda the Awesomest Viking series.

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors