Witch Silver

Anne Forbes


Quick Look

Also available as part of a three-book ebook omnibus of books 4, 5 and 6 in the Dragonfire series.

  • Neil and Clara discover a family secret that could change everything
  • The fifth book in the acclaimed Dragonfire fantasy series set in Scotland

Neil and Clara are lead into a nail-biting adventure with witches and a silver amulet. The fifth book in the Dragonfire series.

Floris Books
Age Range:
From 8 to 12 years
256 pages
Publication date:
29 Nov 2013


In this fifth book in the Dragonfire series, danger comes knocking at Neil and Clara's door, leading them into a darker, more nail-biting adventure than ever before. When Clara inherits a silver amulet from her aunt, the Macleans' magic connections take a decidedly perilous turn -- and witches are never far away.

Containing an explosive, unexpected twist, family secrets are revealed as the thrilling story unfolds.


"The fifth adventure in the gripping Dragonfire series, is the finest book so far... a fantastic book that we enjoyed thoroughly."
-- Scott and Naomi (Primary 5), George Heriot's School, Edinburgh

'... fans of the first four books will be delighted with this latest book for 8-12 year olds from the popular Edinburgh author, as they learn that no one is all bad or all good.'
--Suse Coon, Lothian Life

'I enjoyed this book as it is about mysteries, having adventures and going out at night.'
-- Juwariah (Currie Community High), Teen Titles


Anne Forbes was born in Edinburgh and trained as a teacher. In 1966 she moved to Kuwait and worked for many years at an Anglo-American School. She is married with one daughter and now divides her time between homes in Scotland and Kuwait.


Don't miss the Discover Kelpies website for children with exclusive author interviews, fun stuff and latest gossip on your favourite Scottish stories.


To make sure you don't miss a single book in Anne Forbe's fantastic Dragonfire series, here's a complete list of ebook editions:
Dragonfire (book 1)
The Wings of Ruksh (book 2)
The Underground City (book 3)
Firestar (book 4)
Witch Silver (book 5)
Dragon Seeker (book 6)

You can also buy a combined set of books 4, 5 and 6 together as an eBook:
Dragon Series Books 4-6 (Firestar, Witch Silver, Dragon Seeker)

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors