The Wings of Ruksh

Anne Forbes


Quick Look

Also available as part of a three-book ebook omnibus of books 1, 2 and 3 in the Dragonfire series.

  • Neil and Clara face a dangerous journey filled with winged horses, snow witches and magic mirrors
  • The second book in the acclaimed Dragonfire fantasy series set in Scotland

A year on from Dragonfire and Neil and Clara find themselves on a journey of winged horses and snow witches. Book 2 in the popular series.

Floris Books
Age Range:
From 8 to 12 years
248 pages
Publication date:
29 Nov 2013


A year on from Dragonfire and life has calmed down for Neil and Clara MacLean -- until they get tangled up in the hunt for the missing Sultan's Crown, and the secrets of the mysterious Black Tower. Winged horses, snow witches and magic mirrors are not far away.

From an Edinburgh literally cloaked in tartan, through the forbidding Highland hills, Neil and Clara set out with old and new friends on a perilous journey full of danger, daring -- and a reluctant broomstick.


'For children who have read and enjoyed the Harry Potter series this is a fantastic title with which to continue their journey into the fantasy genre.'
-- Hilary Tomney, The School Librarian

'A wonderful comic tale infused with the excitements and mysteries of the Scottish Highlands.'
-- Mel Tibbs, Juno Magazine


Anne Forbes was born in Edinburgh and trained as a teacher. In 1966 she moved to Kuwait and worked for many years at an Anglo-American School. She is married with one daughter and now divides her time between homes in Scotland and Kuwait.


Don't miss the Discover Kelpies website for children with exclusive author interviews, fun stuff and latest gossip on your favourite Scottish stories.


To make sure you don't miss a single book in Anne Forbe's fantastic Dragonfire series, here's a complete list of ebook editions:
Dragonfire (book 1)
The Wings of Ruksh (book 2)
The Underground City (book 3)
Firestar (book 4)
Witch Silver (book 5)
Dragon Seeker (book 6)

You can also buy a combined set of books 1, 2 and 3 together as an eBook:
Dragon Series Books 1-3 (Dragonfire, The Wings of Ruksh, The Underground City)

… and books 4, 5 and 6 together as an eBook:
Dragon Series Books 4-6 (Firestar, Witch Silver, Dragon Seeker)

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors