This year's
Kelpies Prize

Latest details

Enter the
Kelpies Prize

Find out more


See them all

Information for

Useful resources

Previous Winners

2017 winner

Emily Illett: 2017 winner

Emily Illett won won last year's Kelpies Prize with The Girl Who Lost Her Shadow – the first time a teen novel has won in the history of the Kelpies Prize.

On the morning of Gail's birthday, her shadow escapes under the kitchen door. Gail's not surprised it's decided to leave. Her dad has left for good and her sister Kay, who has always swum through life with her, is sinking into sadness. Gail is angry: angry that Kay doesn't seem to care any more. Then Gail's anger frightens her sister's shadow away too.

Determined to put things right, Gail chases after it. But where there are shadows, there's darkness, and Gail discovers she's not the only one looking for something lost. Gail's love for Kay will be tested to the extreme, but can she retrieve her sister's shadow, and her own?

A magical and beautifully lyrical tale of sisterhood, The Girl Who Lost Her Shadow is a story about bravery and the power of friendship, and being strong enough to ask for help when we really need it. Watch this space for more details.


Ruby McCracken: Tragic Without Magic

2016 winner

Elizabeth Ezra won won the Kelpies Prize 2016 with her sassy witch story Ruby McCracken: Tragic Without Magic. Ruby McCracken's life is OVER. Her parents have forced her to move to the Ordinary World and that means -- new home, new school and worst of all, no magic! Despite her best witching efforts, the Ordinary World remains tragically magic-deprived, until Ruby receives a mysterious hext that seems to offer an answer. That is, if she can figure out what it means and, more importantly, who sent it. Packed with great humour, loveable characters and witty banter, Ruby McCracken: Tragic Without Magic is perfect for fans of Witchworld and The Worst Witch.


Slugboy Saves the World cover

2015 winner

Mark A. Smith won the Kelpies Prize 2015 with his superhero caper Slugboy Saves the World. Thanks to an unfortunately tasty-looking radioactive garden slug, eleven-year-old Murdo McLeod is now the world's worst superhero. It's a world where superhero competition is fierce, and Slugboy is so underrated he doesn't even make the list when an evil mastermind devises a plan to capture all the other superheroes. Now, Slugboy has to use his not-so-super and oh-so-gross abilities to free the other superheroes and save the world. Let's hope he doesn't slip up.


The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean cover

2014 winner

Renfrewshire primary teacher Lindsay Littleson won the Kelpies Prize 2014 with the funny and beautifully written The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean. Lily's got loads going on with her loud, messy family and distracted mum. But when she starts getting warnings about a holiday on the little Scottish island of Millport, her summer gets weirder and weirder... Sequel The Awkward Autumn of Lily McLean was published in March 2017. Lindsay was also shortlisted for the Great War Dundee Children's Book Prize 2014 with her novel Shell Hole.


Attack of the Giant Robot Chickens cover

2013 winner

Alex McCall won the Kelpies Prize 2013 with Attack of the Giant Robot Chickens. The city of Aberdeen is being terrorised by giant robot chickens who want to peck out every last sign of human resistance. Jesse and his friends must hatch a plan to defeat the fowl fiends in this wierd and wonderful adventure. Attack of the Giant Robot Chickens was a winner at the 2015 Scottish Children's Book Awards. Revenge of the Giant Robot Chickens is Alex's second book.


News on Kelpies Prize winners and shortlisted authors

Red Fever cover

Caroline Clough

Caroline Clough won the 2010 Kelpies Prize with her post-apocalyptic adventure Red Fever, set on the Aberdeenshire coast. It went on to be shortlisted for the Heart of Hawick Children's Book Award and the Grampian Children's Book Award. The much anticipated sequel, Black Tide was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the Hillingdon Primary Book of the Year 2013 and the Scottish Children's Book Awards 2013. Silver Storm, the final book in the trilogy, was published in June 2016.

Magnus Fin Ocean Quest cover

Janis Mackay

Janis Mackay was the winner of the 2009 Kelpies Prize with Magnus Fin and the Ocean Quest, and went on to write two more books for the Magnus Fin series, Magnus Fin and the Moonlight Mission and, Magnus Fin and the Selkie Secret. She is also the author of The Accidental Time Traveller, which was a winner at the 2014 Scottish Children's Book Awards, and The Reluctant Time Traveller and a href="">The Unlikely Time Traveller.

First Aid For Fairies cover

Lari Don

Lari Don, a runner-up in the 2007 Kelpies Prize, won the Royal Mail Awards for Scottish Children's Books 2009 with her novel First Aid For Fairies and Other Fabled Beasts. This was followed by Wolf Notes and Other Musical Mishaps, Storm Singing and Other Tangled Tasks, and the final book in the series, Maze Running and Other Magicial Missions. More recently, she has written the Spellcahsers trilogy for the same age group, and Mind Blind for young teens. Lari has also written a number of books for younger children under the Picture Kelpies imprint.

Mike Nicholson

Mike Nicholson won the 2005 Kelpies Prize with Catscape. Mike's second novel, Grimm was published in autumn 2008. Mike is also the author of Thistle Street, Thistle Sands and which were published under the Picture Kelpies imprint, and the Museum Mystery Squad series in our Young Kelpies range.

| =