This year's
Kelpies Prize

Latest details

Enter the
Kelpies Prize

Find out more


See them all

Information for

Useful resources


The Kelpies Prize is an annual prize for new Scottish writing for children run by publisher Floris Books.

Here you will find information for press and media.

Kelpies Prize 2018

We are thrilled to announce the winner for the Kelpies Prize 2018!

Kelpies Prize 2018 Winner Press Release (24 August 2018, PDF, 347KB)

Kelpies Prize 2018 Shortlist Press Release (10 July 2018, PDF, 455KB)

History of the Kelpies Prize

Floris Books launched the Kelpies Prize in 2004 with support from the Scottish Arts Council, now Creative Scotland, to encourage and reward new Scottish writing for children. Previous winners include Mike Nicholson, Scottish Children's Book Award winners Janis Mackay and Alex McCall (the youngest writer ever to win the Kelpies Prize), and the prize also launched the writing career of the multi-award-winning Lari Don.

Kelpies Prize Press Archive

If you would like author photographs, or any other illustrations, please email

| =