This year's
Kelpies Prize

Latest details

Enter the
Kelpies Prize

Find out more


See them all

Information for

Useful resources

This Year's Prize

Kelpies Prize 2014 -- Shortlist Announced!

Thank you to all the authors who submitted their titles for consideration for this year's Kelpies Prize, which is now celebrating its tenth anniversary! We are thrilled to announce this year's shortlisted books are:

  • The Superpower Project by Paul J. Bristow
  • The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean by Lindsay Littleson
  • My Fake Brother by Joan Pratt

The winner of the Kelpies Prize 2014 will be announced on 14th August at the Edinburgh International Book Festival. For more information on the books and authors you can read our shortlist information sheet.

Kelpies Prize 2015 -- Now Open

Have you got a brilliant idea for a children's novel set in Scotland? If you missed out on entering the Kelpies Prize this year, don't worry because you still have plenty of time to submit your entry for next year's prize.

New for 2015, we are now accepting submissions in three categories: Young Kelpies (6-8 years), Kelpies (8-11 years) and KelpiesTeen (11-14 years). You can read more about our new submission categories here. The deadline for the 2015 prize is not until 28 Februrary 2015, so get writing and you could see your novel in print in early 2016. Good luck!

Kelpies Prize 2013 Winner Published

Cover image of Alex McCall's Attack of the Giant Robot Chickens

The winner of last year's prize was Alex McCall and his cracking tale of fowl play in Aberdeen, Attack of the Giant Robot Chickens. Alex's book was announced as the winner of the Kelpies Prize 2013 at a packed ceremony at the Edinburgh International Book Festival on 22nd August 2013, and was published on 20th February 2014.

The other shortlisted entries were Never Back by Barbara Henderson and The Great Moon Mission by Shona McQuilken.

Attack of the Giant Robot Chickens

Why did the chicken cross the road?

The city of Aberdeen is being terrorised by giant robot chickens who want to peck out every last sign of human resistance. The streets are empty, the adults have vanished -- and those left behind are fighting for survival.

Jesse and his friends are desperate to save their families and stop the feathered fiends. They hatch a master plan... but can a gang of kids REALLY defeat an army of angry robot chickens?

Alex McCall grew up in Aberdeen and is currently studying Filmmaking and Screenwriting at the University of the West of Scotland. He has been published in several poetry and short story anthologies, and he is the winner of the Kelpies Prize 2013. Attack of the Giant Robot Chickens is his first children's book.

Kelpies information for adults and children

For general information about the Kelpies range of books, visit the main Floris Books website.

If you're aged roughly between 7 and 12 and you're looking for information about Kelpies, the Discover Kelpies website is for you! Packed with exclusive previews, author interviews, the latest news and events, and other fun stuff like puzzles and downloads, it's the place for all Kelpies fans to be.

More information about the Kelpies Prize