Shadowsmith

Ross MacKenzie

Price:
£4.99
Availability:
eBook

Quick Look

  • Enter a magical, unexpected world
  • Twists and turns keep the reader guessing
  • By master storyteller Ross MacKenzie, author of award-winning The Nowhere Emporium

The award-winning author of The Nowhere Emporium weaves another world of magic and adventure for 9 to 12 year olds.

Publisher:
Floris Books
Subject:
Kelpies
Age Range:
From 10 to 12 years
Extent:
280 pages
ISBN:
9781782503439
Publication date:
08 Sep 2016
Series:
Kelpies

Description

'Are you brave?'

When the mysterious Amelia Pigeon turns up at Kirby's bedroom window in the dead of night, this is the question she asks him -- right before they tumble into a world of ancient malevolent spirits who have torn their way into Kirby's quiet seaside village.

Kirby isn't feeling brave at all. His mother is in a coma following a freak (or was it?) accident, and he's hardly talking to his dad. He's convinced a spider is spying on him, and now a weird girl in a yellow raincoat -- who claims to be a powerful, evil-banishing Shadowsmith -- is dragging him into unknown danger. How brave is he really?

Ross MacKenzie, author of award-winning The Nowhere Emporium, weaves a world of magic and adventure which twists and turns magnificently, and keeps thrilled young readers guessing right to the end.

Reviews

'Spooky and deliciously dark in places, this is a fabulously gripping story about the power of love, friendship and overcoming scary situations.'
--MinervaReads

'This is another brilliant page-turner from Blue Peter Book Award winner, Ross MacKenzie. It twists and turns between darkness and light, and is full of suspense, mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Cliff McNish and JK Rowling.'
-- BookTrust

‘In the pages of "Shadowsmith", author Ross MacKenzie deftly weaves a world of magic and adventure in a fantasy adventure novel replete twists and turns magnificently and will keep thrilled young readers ages 9 to 12 guessing right to the end. Impressively original and exceptionally well written, "Shadowsmith" is a consistently compelling read from beginning to end and very highly recommended for school and community library Science Fiction & Fantasy collections.’
-- Midwest Book Review

Author

Ross MacKenzie is the author of The Nowhere Emporium, winner of the Blue Peter Award and the Scottish Children's Book Award. He lives in Renfrew, where he grew up, with his wife and two daughters, but spends much of his time in another world.

Just feel like browsing?

Browse our catalogues

Interested in an author?

Discover authors

| =